Go to content

The ECTS system

ECTS  was developed by the Commission of the European Communities in order to provide common procedures to guarantee academic recognition of studies abroad.
It provides a way of measuring and comparing learning achievements, and transferring them from one institution to another.

The ECTS system is based on the principle of mutual trust and confidence between the participating higher education institutions. 

The few rules of ECTS are set out to reinforce this mutual trust and confidence:
  • Information (about the available courses)
  • Agreement (between the home and the host institutions)
  • The Use of Credit Points (to indicate the student workload)

Each ECTS institution will describe the courses it offers, not only in terms of content, but also adding credits to each course.

The ECTS system is reinforced by the following:

1. ECTS Credits
2. ECTS Grading Scale
3. ECTS Learning Agreement 
4. ECTS Transcript of Records

ECTS and Credit Transfer

When the student has successfully completed the study programme previously agreed between the home and the host institution and returns to the home institution, credit transfer will take place. The student will continue the study course at the home institution without any loss of time or credit. 

If, on the other hand, the student decides to stay at the host institution to take a certificate or degree there, he or she may have to adapt the study course due to the legal, institutional and departmental rules in the host country, institution and department.

Students selected by each institution to participate in ECTS may only be awarded a student mobility grant if they fulfill the general conditions of eligibility for the ERASMUS grant. 

These are:
  • Students must be citizens of one of the EU Member States or citizen of one of the EEC countries (or recognised by one Member State or one EEC country as having an official status of refugee or stateless person or placement resident)
  • as for EEC nationals, students will be eligible provided they are moving within the framework of ERASMUS while they are registered as students in ECTS participating institutions in other EEC countries or in Community Member States and are only eligible for participation in ECTS if they have established a right of permanent residence
  • Students are not to be required to pay tuition fees at the host institution; students may, however, be required to continue to pay his/her normal tuition fees to the home institution during the period of study abroad
  • The national grant/loan to which a student may be entitled for study at his/her institution may not be discontinued, interrupted or reduced while that student is studying in another Member State and is receiving an ERASMUS grant
  • The study period abroad should not last less than three months or more than one year.
  • Students must have completed their first year of studies at higher education level.

A Diploma Supplement is given automatically and free of charge when graduating from Queen Maud University College.